Scarpa T2 Eco/boot fit question

This is the World Famous TelemarkTalk / TelemarkTips Forum, by far the most dynamic telemark and backcountry skiing discussion board on the world wide web. We have fun here, come on in and be a part of it.
2fifty6

Scarpa T2 Eco/boot fit question

Post by 2fifty6 » Wed Apr 06, 2016 11:49 pm

Hello all!

I'm brand new to telemark skiing (and to this forum), having just started back in February. Been wanting to learn for a while (I've got a bunch of relatives who are long-time tele skiers) and am finally in a position to do so! I'm brimming with questions, which I'll probably pose here on the forum sooner or later, but tonight I'll start off with just one.

My question is about boots. The current iteration of the Scarpa T2 boots, in particular, known as the Ecos (i.e., this model: https://www.rei.com/product/839494/scar ... s-20122013.) I just got a pair at a good end-of-season sale price. Based on what I've read in forums and reviews and such, I think the model is perfect for starting off: not to beefy, not too light, both capable and comfortable. Having been Satisfied with rental BD Seekers of both size 30 and 30.5, I was told that a size 30 T2 would be just right.

Well, I've got my new boots on in the house right now. With much effort I was able to get the buckles only as far as the first tooth (the touring tooth in the case of the top buckle). That was while wearing standard hiking socks. They also feel a bit tight, particularly around the shin/calf--although not painfully so. It's literally as loose as it's going to get while being buckled, though.

Having been told that this would be a suitable size for me, I'm left with the question(s) I'd like to pose here: do they just need to adjust/get broken in a bit, or are they genuinely too small? Once I've got boots on my feet, how do I tell if they really do fit properly? I know Scarpa's shell sizes break at the whole size, so would I be better off with a 30.5?