The FEEEL between rod/cartridge and compression springs.

This is the World Famous TelemarkTalk / TelemarkTips Forum, by far the most dynamic telemark and backcountry skiing discussion board on the world wide web. We have fun here, come on in and be a part of it.
Woodserson
Ski style: Bumps, trees, steeps and long woodsy XC tours

The FEEEL between rod/cartridge and compression springs.

Post by Woodserson » Mon Dec 12, 2016 2:10 pm

OK! OK! Things are good. Day 1 in the books, 7" of fresh, had a great day. First day in a plastic tele boot, the T4, and first day on my Rossi Big Bangs with Rott Chilis and the Vectors with SwitchBacks.

Let's talk, because I'm new to plastic boots and rod/cartridge bindings.

First the Rossi's were awesome, and the boots were awesome (used a booster strap and found it good on this boot), and I was happy with the bindings because they felt like my Voile 3pins with cables that I have on all my XCD stuff, and life was good. Skiing was great, I love this ski, I have for years, now I'm just tele on it, and it was good.

There was more snow than I was expecting to so I swapped in my Vectors. My Vectors are awesome, I love them, they float so easy, and they are so turny and I'm just so chuffed I could hug you all. The T4's are a good match too for them, for now.

The only problem is that on the Vectors with the SB's, I can't stay on my ball of foot. When I drop a knee I can't get the bellow to flex as easy as the Chilis or Cables and I'm standing on my tippy toe on the dropped leg. This is a weird feeling. I'm used to leather boots and the Voile cable binding, and I keep my BOF plantedd on the ski. On the Rossi's, I was able to keep my BOF on the ski. Then I get on the Vectors and I'm all tippy-toed and like, WTF, Over? I backed the cartridges back a bit and it was a little better, but I still feel unplanted on my inside leg. I don't like this.