"My son wants to telemark!" advice wanted

This is the World Famous TelemarkTalk / TelemarkTips Forum, by far the most dynamic telemark and backcountry skiing discussion board on the world wide web. We have fun here, come on in and be a part of it.
Jonah5

"My son wants to telemark!" advice wanted

Post by Jonah5 » Fri Jan 27, 2017 3:35 pm

So I've been telemarking now for 2 years and love it (in addition to alpine skiing and snowboarding) and now my 8 year old is showing interest as well. He's been skiing since 3 and easily skis all the blacks in summit county, including the moguls. Any advice on equipment? I checked out Wilderness Sports in Dillon but the guy wasn't very supportive saying that kids equipment is very hard to find. I know they're out there because I saw a bunch of them tearing it up at Telluride couple years ago, ranging in age from around 8 to early teens. I had my son try out a mondo 22.5 which were just a touch large ,but would likely fit him well next year. I've also seen several boots that size on ebay, but just not sure which to get since I'm not familiar with 3pin or whatever else. My setup is ntn which is all I've known. And what about bindings? Are the cable bindings I see adjustable to such a small size or are they size specific? Ladies' versions maybe? My plan was to just mount them on some cheap regular skis. I definitely want to do this cheaply (used) just to make sure he'll stay with it. Thanks for any inout you can offer!

MikeK

Re: "My son wants to telemark!" advice wanted

Post by MikeK » Fri Jan 27, 2017 3:46 pm

http://www.telemarkdown.com/store/boots/garmont-g-rex/

http://www.orscrosscountryskisdirect.co ... boots.html

If you use Voile cable bindings you can trim the cable to whatever length.

connyro
needs to take stock of his life
needs to take stock of his life

Post by connyro » Fri Jan 27, 2017 4:40 pm