Nordic backcountry setup for above treeline

This is the World Famous TelemarkTalk / TelemarkTips Forum, by far the most dynamic telemark and backcountry skiing discussion board on the world wide web. We have fun here, come on in and be a part of it.
hrishi

Nordic backcountry setup for above treeline

Post by hrishi » Thu May 11, 2017 1:47 am

Hi there, My first post! :)

I am a novice skier and trying to figure out where nordic backcountry skiing ends and Tele/AT begins.
From what I have read so far, I understand that nordic skiing is usually done on 'hikable' terrain (<30 deg slopes, scalable with snowshoes), while Tele/ AT skiing is meant more for a 'mountaineering' style terrain (30 deg+ slopes, crampons, ice axe etc). However, I find little information on use of nordic setup on 'hikable' alpine terrain. For example, several 14ers in Colorado can be scaled in winter via low angle ridgelines with snowshoes. However, most online discussions regarding 14er skiing go into 'ski mountaineering' realm and begin and end with AT gear and high-angle couloir descends.

So far, I've taken a lesson in XC and then done 3-4 beginner un-groomed trails in Colorado. I am 5'11" and weigh 165-170 lb. My aim is to be able to ski on hikable terrains- both below and above treeline- in a easy-going fashion. While I would like to do multi-day touring at some point, right now I am more interested in long day hikes. The most strenuous hike profiles that I would like to ski include 2500-4000 ft elevation gain in 5-15 miles round trip, including some easy 14ers. Currently I use snowshoes, but looking for a faster and less tiring way to traverse. I am not interested in speed or turns (definitely not tele turns) per se, but would like to check the speed using turns (snow plough, step, or parallel turns- whichever works) wherever necessary. I am hoping to get a one-ski quiver for this and based on several online reviews and discussions, it seems I have 3 options: