thanks for all the fish

This is the World Famous TelemarkTalk / TelemarkTips Forum, by far the most dynamic telemark and backcountry skiing discussion board on the world wide web. We have fun here, come on in and be a part of it.
t-$

thanks for all the fish

Post by t-$ » Sun Dec 03, 2017 9:59 am

hey all,

total newb here, and been lurking around for awhile. just wanted to say thanks for all the intensive reviews, discussion, memoirs, etc. it's nice to find people on the web that you feel a connection to. turns out i have been chasing this XCD thing since i started skiing, but have just been calling it cross country skiing.

i only started skiing 4 years ago when i moved to fairbanks and was dating a girl who lived on a popular ski mountain in town. the "nordic park" and a black diamond were right out the back door. i thought it was normal to have to ski up the mountain and back down. then we went to the oosik classic in talkeetna and had the most fun on the rolling woods section where everyone else was walking.

fast forward a few years and i am now back in my homestate of michigan and missing the cold, dark, silent skiing of the alaska bush. i long for snow. it's bad. my longing has forced me to read about gear and buy new gear. got the alaska's, go figure, and the magnum binding. mounted those to my play-it-again specials, a pair of 200 fischer country crowns. i've been skiing in the living room.

i also bought 2 pairs of the asnes usgi skis from coleman and am eagerly awaiting their arrival!! gonna mount them with a bc magnum also and see how they compare to the fischers. all of this is depending on snow of course! snow already, damnit!

anyways, thanks again for entertainment and info. hopefully my turns can keep improving if i can find some snow in the backcountry here. nothing like tight woods runs to hone the skillz. happy holidays, e'rybody...

STG

Re: thanks for all the fish

Post by STG » Sun Dec 03, 2017 12:36 pm