Satchel’s Neophyte Nordic Backcountry Adventure Thread

This is the World Famous TelemarkTalk / TelemarkTips Forum, by far the most dynamic telemark and backcountry skiing discussion board on the world wide web. We have fun here, come on in and be a part of it.
Young Satchel

Satchel’s Neophyte Nordic Backcountry Adventure Thread

Post by Young Satchel » Thu Jan 18, 2018 8:50 pm

Hey Gang,

After concluding my first epic advice-seeking thread after 6-months+ of amazing back-and-forth with . . . GASP . . . A ski purchase (!!!) I thought it only right to begin anew with a thread to chronicle the early days of my XC adventures.

I’m a photographer by trade (amongst other things) and enjoy taking pictures wherever I go and whatever I do, so you can be rest assured that this will be an image-heavy thread. Proceed at your own risk! In addition to recording and reporting on my humble, local tours in and around the Hudson Valley Region of NY, I’ll also use this as a space to discuss and review gear—skis, boots, bindings, poles, packs, relevant clothing, etc...— as well as to solicit much-needed technique tips and general advice from the wiser, more-experience hands among you (read: everyone ;).

As some may recall, I grabbed a solid post-Christmas deal on some Fischer T78s with NNN-BC Manual bindings, Fischer Offtrack Poles (155) and Fischer Offtrack 3 BC Boots. The day I picked them up, it began pouring rain non-stop washing all the snow away, and in the couple of days that followed temps reached near 60F! Not the best start [emoji20] But here we are a week or so later and cold temps and snow have returned to the valley, so what did I do? I got the fuck out there as soon as I could to test my new setup!