XC Backcountry Skis For 275 lb Newbie?

This is the World Famous TelemarkTalk / TelemarkTips Forum, by far the most dynamic telemark and backcountry skiing discussion board on the world wide web. We have fun here, come on in and be a part of it.
TomBrooklyn

Post by TomBrooklyn » Thu Jan 25, 2018 8:30 pm

Experience: Total Newb. No ski experience of any kind.
Weight: 275 lb
Height: 5' 10"
Expected Use: flats, gently rolling hills, steeper hills as experience and skills allow
Desires: Maximum control. Minimum speed.
Snow conditions: Probably mostly crusty and icy

Which backcountry cross country skis should I be looking for? Which length?

I'm familiar with some of the most popular BC skis from watching OCR video on youtube. Mainly I was wondering if I need a particular ski or a longer ski because of my 275 weight.

On the other hand, I understand shorter skis are easier to control and don't go as fast. I want maximum control. I'm just trying to learn how to ski. I don't want to go fast. In fact, I want to go slow. Nice and slow. As long as they glide a little.

lowangle al
Ski style: BC with focus on downhill perfection
Favorite Skis: powder skis
Favorite boots: Scarpa T4
Occupation: Retired cement mason. Current job is to take my recreation as serious as I did my past employment.

Re: XC Backcountry Skis For 275 lb Newbie?

Post by lowangle al » Thu Jan 25, 2018 10:13 pm