XCD and NNN BC newbie

This is the World Famous TelemarkTalk / TelemarkTips Forum, by far the most dynamic telemark and backcountry skiing discussion board on the world wide web. We have fun here, come on in and be a part of it.
MartinF

XCD and NNN BC newbie

Post by MartinF » Fri Mar 30, 2018 8:26 am

Hi all,

I'm 57 and a good alpine skier (and that willl probably remain my main focus), but I'm new to XCD and have already learnt a lot over the past few weeks from studying this board - especially from posts by lilcliffy, CIMA, MikeD and Johnny.

I live near Bonn, Germany, very close to a few low mountain ranges that get fairly infrequent snow nowadays... and my idea is to learn a technique that will afford some fun there when the right weather occurs (the snow will very rarely be deep). The terrain is mostly wooded, very few open descents - some steepish forestry trails being the widest downhills I can expect.

At 183cm of height and 75 kilos, I newly own two pairs of BC skis: the E99s in 200cm and the Salomon XADV 89 in 168cm (the latter purposely bought a little short in the hope - since fulfilled - to reverse the camber more easily). Bindings are NNN BC Magnum and the boots are Rossignol BCX 6. I also purchased some track XC skis, but I had no former XC experience prior to this month. (I live near an outlet that boasts ridiculously low prices towards the end of the season, so my total expenditure amounted to less than a single set of equipment would normally cost.)

Hints that have been especially helpful revolve around the idea that this is totally new equipment - spelling the need to abandon expectations of getting (any measure of) the accustomed support from shoes and bindings. Over the last few weeks of theoretical research (mostly here), I tuned myself to the idea that I wasn't going to control these skis in any way I had already experienced. Instead, I was going to discover them.