line supernatural for telemark?

This is the World Famous TelemarkTalk / TelemarkTips Forum, by far the most dynamic telemark and backcountry skiing discussion board on the world wide web. We have fun here, come on in and be a part of it.
kricke

line supernatural for telemark?

Post by kricke » Thu Dec 06, 2018 9:45 am

I'm new to telemarking and ready to buy a set.
NTN it will be...
deciding on the ski is the hard part. I don't want to buy every two year a new pair, so I'm looking forward in my 'evolution'. For now that means mostly slopes. In the years to come the ski should also be able to handle some off piste (let's say 75-25).
after way to many hours :? on the internet these 'stick':

- Line supernatural 86 - I've read some really good reviews and some bad ones. all NOT related to telemark unfortunately.
- Line supernatural 92 - mostly good reviews. does this mean that the 86 and 92 are really so much of a difference? wouldn't know what to choose...
- K2 wayback 88 - lots of good reviews, but seems to be focused on touring (which probably will not be the case for me in the near future).

anyone experience with the supernaturals (or even in comparison with the K2)?
oh yeah, the 'numbers': I'm 185cm, around 80 kgs and just started out to telemark (8 lessons - total of 16h). I never skied before, but do have 20 years of snowboard experience of which the last 12 'pureboarding/extreme carving' in hardboots.

thx

kricke

Woodserson
Ski style: Bumps, trees, steeps and long woodsy XC tours

Re: line supernatural for telemark?

Post by Woodserson » Thu Dec 06, 2018 7:58 pm

Where will you be skiing?

Line also makes a decent ski called the "Sick Day' in different widths. The Supernaturals, IIRC (you will want to verify), are heavier and stiffer than the Sick Days, and as someone who has never skied before you may enjoy them more without getting kicked around as much. Easier to throw around/pick up (less fatiguing) easier to turn, etc. Tough to say, really.