Nordic Backcountry Setup for Novice Skier

This is the World Famous TelemarkTalk / TelemarkTips Forum, by far the most dynamic telemark and backcountry skiing discussion board on the world wide web. We have fun here, come on in and be a part of it.
petey23

Nordic Backcountry Setup for Novice Skier

Post by petey23 » Sat Dec 08, 2018 8:55 am

I am looking for advice on a good "nordic backcountry" setup. First, a little about me and what I'm trying to accomplish:

About Me:
-I have a lot of backcountry experience (Avy I and II, 15 years splitboarding in the backcountry, 20 years winter mountaineering)
-I'm not a skier. I've had skis on my feet 5 times in my life.
-I will be skiing in Utah and Wyoming
-I'm a bigger guy, 180-190 lbs

What I want to do:
-Long tours (day or overnight) into the Uintas and Wind River Range
-Skiing over passes to get deep into the backcountry, without dying on the way down
-Tours with more horizontal than vertical (e.g. 30-40 miles RT with 4k gain) but concentrated vertical over passes
-Most terrain will be trail-breaking in powder, but also some wind crust and maybe some spring skiing (still with a focus on covering ground) as well

What I care about
=Speed on flats and uphills take priority over downhill ability. I learned to snowboard on some rickety stuff, and will handle frustration at sucking downhill better than being slow getting to my destination.

What I don't care about:
-Yo-yo skiing. If the point is turns, I would probably splitboard
-Skiing anything steep (couloirs, skimo). Again, I would splitboard. I don't anticipate ever becoming a good skier.

I've read a lot, but could really use some guidance that takes into account my total lack of skiing skills. For instance, Forrest McCarthy's blog has a lot info and is geared toward the types of trips I want to do, but I am unsure how to adjust his advice for my novice downhill abilities.

http://forrestmccarthy.blogspot.com/201 ... ordic.html