Fischer Excursion 88 vs Outtabounds - Newb

This is the World Famous TelemarkTalk / TelemarkTips Forum, by far the most dynamic telemark and backcountry skiing discussion board on the world wide web. We have fun here, come on in and be a part of it.
Zamdrang

Fischer Excursion 88 vs Outtabounds - Newb

Post by Zamdrang » Tue Apr 09, 2019 7:04 pm

I'm new to Nordic BC skiing, and frankly still have a lot to learn at the resorts as well. I live in a mountainous area of N Ca and after much prodding by co workers last year started going out on logging roads and moderate terrain on a pair of Fischer Country Crown 210s with 3pins and had a ton of fun..loved it. This year a co worker loaned me his 179 length Outtabounds 88/68/78 with Voile 3pins which I've been using all winter. I've been using an Alico Skate leather boot which Im sticking with for now. (He also loaned me a T2..but that's another story)

I'm ready to buy my own ski and initially planned on the Excursion 88 being that I've enjoyed the Outtabounds. My biggest complaint is how much slip I get with the Outtabounds. They are quite cambered and do glide nice, but even on moderate hills I find myself cussing them on climbs. I have tried a 205 10th Mtn on the same slopes and had more grip. I'm not ready for skins but surrounded each weekend by enough people on AT gear/skins (there is 3-4K of vertical for the taking) that I understand the limitations of scales

So before I buy I'm wondering if the Excursion 88 the exact same ski as the Outtabounds or if the flex and camber has changed at all? If so is it different enough to improve this trait for me? I know the scale pattern is different on the 2018 98 as I've compared them side by side. Assume it's the same on the 88? If so Is that enough to make a profound difference?