Seeking Guidance On A New Setup

This is the World Famous TelemarkTalk / TelemarkTips Forum, by far the most dynamic telemark and backcountry skiing discussion board on the world wide web. We have fun here, come on in and be a part of it.
grizz_bait

Seeking Guidance On A New Setup

Post by grizz_bait » Mon Dec 16, 2019 9:19 pm

Hello all,

I am a newbie to the telemark/xc touring world looking for advice on a setup for long tours near my home in SW Montana with minimal emphasis on making turns. I am looking at the Voile HD Mountaineer bindings mounted on Fischer Traverse or Excursions. I read on the REI website that a 3-pin binding should not be mounted on these skis because of the "double camber and waxless bases with fishscales." That doesn't really make sense to me though. Not sure why waxless bases and double camber would preclude them from being mounted with a 3-pin. Anyone care to weigh in?

A few more random questions:

I know this is a divisive topic, but should I consider NNN-BC over a 3-pin? I want the most reliable option because multi-day solo traverses in winter are an eventual goal.

Also, I've read reviews online of the Alpina Alaska prematurely delaminating at the duckbill. Has this problem been fixed?

Part of me wants to get a waxable ski but the minimal fuss of a waxless base is appealing. While I love to nerd out on technicalities, I'd also like to get out the door and ski. Are the barriers to learning the art of the wax significant?

Finally, I can't decide between the Traverse or the Excursion. Sometimes the snow is deep here in Montana, but a narrower and faster ski is also appealing. If I'm not really in it for the turns, the Traverse seems like a better option?

Thank you!

Woodserson
Ski style: Bumps, trees, steeps and long woodsy XC tours

Re: Seeking Guidance On A New Setup

Post by Woodserson » Mon Dec 16, 2019 10:29 pm

Grizz,

Welcome and I'll expound out some ideas super quick...