New to xcd, need help figuring out gear for rivervalley exploring

This is the World Famous TelemarkTalk / TelemarkTips Forum, by far the most dynamic telemark and backcountry skiing discussion board on the world wide web. We have fun here, come on in and be a part of it.
Alxtomlinson

New to xcd, need help figuring out gear for rivervalley exploring

Post by Alxtomlinson » Sat Jan 11, 2020 4:34 pm

Hi im new to the XCD ski thing. I've had the idea come to me a few times in the past, but didn't know how to vocalize my needs so I could get the right hardware.

I live in a river valley city with plenty of rolling forest hills and trails. Mountains are a few hours away, so I my xcd setup should be for in town. When it dumps it opens up new terrain I'd like to explore... but here I am on my old xc setup in tracks going "oh it's impossible to have fun exploring that terrain as going downhill without alpine skis is dumb because there is a rolling up hill in 20 seconds anyway."

I have a great time mountain biking rolling hilly trails in the summer, is there anything close in the winter?

So I tried going to mountain equipment co-op and dedicated xc shops to ask about what kind of hardware I'd need and they are all mystified... its either classic, skate, or tele... aaaand those weird fat xc skis in the corner I can't really describe who wants them or why. Wait, try these snowshoes.

A few years ago I ended up getting rossignol BC 59 with Salomon XA 6 boots and SNS XA bindings.
I thought this would be "it" the 59s can fit in a track, but
When things go downhill I can maybe steer maybe because they have metal edges, and my boots are badass. I got the 200cm skis because I thought I can get good kick and glide with a heavy pack if I wanted to go to the mountains for overnight tours. I'm 5'9" and 170pnds.