Total newb, looking for advice.

This is the World Famous TelemarkTalk / TelemarkTips Forum, by far the most dynamic telemark and backcountry skiing discussion board on the world wide web. We have fun here, come on in and be a part of it.
River Drifter

Total newb, looking for advice.

Post by River Drifter » Thu Feb 20, 2020 10:09 pm

Hi everyone! I’m looking for some advice here, and I’m really starting from scratch.

I do a lot of hiking and exploring in the woods and fields in the Midwest. Sub 24 hour over nighters, but never anything extended. All off trail, but no descents. Flat stuff mainly. I’ve got a pair of Karhu Meta 120s that I use when we have enough snow. The more I use them the more I think this is a lot of fun, but I think I want to go faster and further.

So what do I need? I’m looking at maybe something like the Fischer E98 BCX Tour Ultralite, or the Outback 68, or maybe the Country Crown. Should I go with NNN, or 3 pin? For what I do, a lot of walking is usually involved.

If anyone can point me in the right direction, I’d really appreciate it. Thanks!

wooley12

Re: Total newb, looking for advice.

Post by wooley12 » Fri Feb 21, 2020 12:22 am

Yes. Get the red ones.

Chisana
Ski style: Sliding on snow
Favorite Skis: EMS Woodies
Favorite boots: Merrell ultras

Post by Chisana » Fri Feb 21, 2020 12:58 am