Madshus Annum Sizing

This is the World Famous TelemarkTalk / TelemarkTips Forum, by far the most dynamic telemark and backcountry skiing discussion board on the world wide web. We have fun here, come on in and be a part of it.
motel 1.5

Madshus Annum Sizing

Post by motel 1.5 » Wed Oct 21, 2020 10:10 pm

Greetings from Maine!

I'm new to the forum and just starting to get into XCD so have a few questions about sizing some Madshus Annums. For a bit of background I'm an expert alpine skier, grew up on skis and was a pretty hardcore ski bum for a number of years. I'd say I'm more of an advanced-intermediate XC skier, also grew up on nordic, but moved away from it for a long time so I'm pretty rusty.

I'm 5'8" 160lbs and vacillating between the 175cm and 185cm Annum's. I'll be skiing these primarily on mid-low-angle trips in NH and ME; mostly exploring the local woods but also linking up some longer trips when the conditions are appropriate. Ski's will be mounted with Voile 3 pin cables and driven with a pair of two buckle Andrew leather boots. I have a Dynastar Cham HM 97 AT setup, a pair of Fischer E99's and a few other beater XC skis so looking to find something to slot in between.

I'm leaning towards the 185's just because the thought of a 175cm nordic ski seems off to me, but having a shorter ski that I can throw around a bit quicker is appealing. If anyone has any direct experience skiing these in the east coast woods I'd love to hear your opinions.

Johnny
Site Admin
Ski style: Dancing with God with leathers / Racing against the machine with plastics
Favorite Skis: Redsters, Radicals, XCD Comps, Objectives and S98s
Favorite boots: Alpina Alaska XP, Alfa Guards, Scarpa TX Comp

Re: Madshus Annum Sizing

Post by Johnny » Mon Oct 26, 2020 8:01 am

The 175 will be easier to control on the down... But if it's mostly for "exploring", I would go for 185, it will give you more stability and better glide... 8-)
/...\ Peace, Love, Telemark and Tofu /...\