Personal Philosophy: Ask permission or forgiveness?

This is the place to debate politics, global warming, and yes, even the origin of man, whatever. Simply put, if you want to argue about off topic stuff, you've found the right board. Have fun!
MikeK

Personal Philosophy: Ask permission or forgiveness?

Post by MikeK » Fri Mar 27, 2015 10:25 am

Is it me or are Americans becoming exceedingly rude?

I read this all the time, particularly from skiers regarding various subjects but mostly trespassing. I'm not really a huge proponent of private lands; the concept seems a bit silly to me, but as such I don't see the need to willfully break said laws because I probably can get away with it most of the time. Even on public lands this is an issue with certain individuals not being able to follow a simple set of rules (used to be considered common sense) which are enforced to keep them safe AND keep public areas enjoyable for everyone, not just them.

As I see it the 'better to ask forgiveness than permission' mantra is no different than the 'me first' attitude that crops up so frequently these days. Everything is cool as long as I get mine, right? It seems arrogant, ignorant and rude.

And don't get me wrong - I break laws, and very willfully mind you, but I do so with full knowledge of the consequences. Also I feel this is the kind of thing where it's more of a social convention and etiquette than law. It's like littering, driving too slow in the fast lane, passing on the right, post holing trails, etc...

Johnny
Site Admin
Ski style: Dancing with God with leathers / Racing against the machine with plastics
Favorite Skis: Redsters, Radicals, XCD Comps, Objectives and S98s
Favorite boots: Alpina Alaska XP, Alfa Guards, Scarpa TX Comp

Re: Personal Philosophy: Ask permission or forgiveness?

Post by Johnny » Wed Apr 01, 2015 9:41 am

I don't think it's an American thing. This is where the entire human race is heading. I call it hypocrisy.