Leather Boot Reviews

This is the World Famous TelemarkTalk / TelemarkTips Forum, by far the most dynamic telemark and backcountry skiing discussion board on the world wide web. We have fun here, come on in and be a part of it.
anemic

Leather Boot Reviews

Post by anemic » Fri Jan 06, 2017 3:01 pm

I know the forum says ski reviews, but...I'm still learning and have a ways to go...maybe it would be helpful to centralize some of the info that may not be easy to find?

What are your leather boots like and how do they compare to other leather boots?

My old school high mileage Merrell leathers feel great on my feet. They are straightforward not Supercomps. No added plastic baffles. I feel like I could maybe race classic in them. They are even relatively light at just over 2# per boot. They are just plain comfortable. Extremely fabulous for the kick and glide. However on the flipside / descent they have very little sole stiffness. This may be somewhat of a limiting factor for it's ability to drive a ski. I don't really know.

I tried to match these boots up with a BD Stigma using a Voile cable binding and it seemed like if the cable binding had enough tension to not fall off, it felt like it folded the sole of the boot quite a bit. It just seemed like a mismatch. They are a great match for my Eons though.