Beginner XCD ski choice

This is the World Famous TelemarkTalk / TelemarkTips Forum, by far the most dynamic telemark and backcountry skiing discussion board on the world wide web. We have fun here, come on in and be a part of it.
trinacu

Beginner XCD ski choice

Post by trinacu » Tue Dec 15, 2020 4:51 am

Hello to everyone, I have been looking to get into XC skiing for a while now and this year I decided it's time!
I have skied (alpine, no free heel) since 5 y/o and am pretty good (?) at it. I've done my fair share of backcountry and that's where I love it the most. I like the idea of earning the turns, but even more so the peace one can enjoy in the wilderness rather than the crowds on groomed tracks with lifts.
I've been cycling for a few years now and wanted something (similar?) to do in the winter because cycling in the cold is quite terrible :D
I was in a camp in the mountains as a kid where we did classic XC and I loved it!
First I was looking into skating/classic but I quickly realized I want something that would enable me more freedom (I don't want to be stuck to the few groomed courses we have around here). That's why I am looking to do mostly off track touring - a ski that would enable me to travel distances but still have some ability for turning and going downhill. I have read a few threads on here and from what I understand I would want a wider ski, BUT we don't really get too much powder here so I think something like the Madshus Annum would probably be overkill. On the other hand I do want some floatation and trail breaking ability for when we do get some of the sweet stuff.
From what I could tell the Asnes Gamme 54 are a very nice all-rounder but I don't want a wax base ski for my first pair. So something like Madshus Eon or Fischer S-bound 98/88? What about Alpina? Has anyone tried the Discovery 68 or 80? Maybe even something like Fischer Adventure 62?