Klister?

This is the World Famous TelemarkTalk / TelemarkTips Forum, by far the most dynamic telemark and backcountry skiing discussion board on the world wide web. We have fun here, come on in and be a part of it.
red_pine

Klister?

Post by red_pine » Wed Jan 20, 2021 8:06 am

Hi Everybody. I am new to using grip wax on skis, having used fishscales my whole life. I have been using the system advocated by lilcliffy and many others on this forum: ironing polar or green into the entire base, and then applying wax of the day to the glide zone. The system has worked well on days when conditions were good for hard wax.

I am wondering how to incorporate klister into this system for icy conditions. There is a lot of adivce on the internet about klister, much of it contradictory and oriented more toward racing, so it is hard to know where to begin. Is universal klister adequate, or do I really need multiple klisters? Is it a good idea to apply hard wax over the klister to prevent icing, and if so, under what conditions should this be done? Does the ironed in polar wax serve as a good binder for klister, or do I need base klister? If I have already applied multiple layers of hard wax, do I need to scrape those off before applying the klister? Any advice or input that you have would be appreciated.

lowangle al
Ski style: BC with focus on downhill perfection
Favorite Skis: powder skis
Favorite boots: Scarpa T4
Occupation: Retired cement mason. Current job is to take my recreation as serious as I did my past employment.

Re: Klister?

Post by lowangle al » Wed Jan 20, 2021 9:12 am

Good questions Red Pine, I'm gonna add one of my own.
I've been thinking about having a dedicated klister ski and pulling it out when needed. Will the klister hold up for weeks in storage when not needed. I know with wax I have used a ski with wax from the previous season.

fgd135
Ski style: Yes, sometimes.
Favorite Skis: Most of them
Favorite boots: Boots that fit