Alpina Discovery 80 reviews?

This is the World Famous TelemarkTalk / TelemarkTips Forum, by far the most dynamic telemark and backcountry skiing discussion board on the world wide web. We have fun here, come on in and be a part of it.
Ira

Alpina Discovery 80 reviews?

Post by Ira » Mon Dec 06, 2021 5:19 am

Hi everyone, I’d love to get feedback about the Alpina Discovery 80 (80/58/69) for XCd (only low-slope downhill, more XC). Has anyone skied that, and how does it compare to the following: Fischer Traverse 78, Fischer Excursion 88, Fischer S-bound 98, and Rossignol BC-90?

How does it perform (relative to the others above) in icy or crusty, melted and refrozen conditions, on ungroomed forest service roads (on gentle slopes that are easy in good snow but challenging on hard snow)?

I'm a beginner, and I currently don’t do zig zag turns, only turn to avoid snowshoe tracks or bumps, or follow a curvy road, and when skiing in an empty campground I turn slightly to avoid trees and rocks and picnic tables etc.. I ski backcountry but nothing steep, and always ungroomed

Does it work well with 3-pin bindings and Alpina Alaska 75 (or an old soft-from-age Fischer BCX 675)? Does it have good glide, good grip, and good control and stability? How well does it handle slight bumps or occasional uneven terrain? Does it offer more or less control, edging ability, or stability than the Excursion 88 or Traverse 78, or other options I mentioned above?

I've included a picture of an example of the terrain I ski.
forestserviceroadsunny.jpg
If I get this, it would be part of a 2-ski quiver (the other being for deeper snow, probably S-bound 112).

Also, are there all-mohair skins that can be effectively used with this ski (which I'd only use occasionally, on the iciest days only for low-angle forest service road slopes)?

I did do a search of ski reviews and saw many mentions, and reviews of similar items, but no reviews specifically of this item.

Thanks!

Tom M