kom vs Fischer Sbound 125 advice please

This is the World Famous TelemarkTalk / TelemarkTips Forum, by far the most dynamic telemark and backcountry skiing discussion board on the world wide web. We have fun here, come on in and be a part of it.
Rickg707

kom vs Fischer Sbound 125 advice please

Post by Rickg707 » Wed Jan 24, 2024 8:05 pm

hi all,

I'm pretty new to tele skiing. I tried downhill at resorts twice, but my main interest is nordic BC/XCD. I've been doing AT skiing (white mtns, NH) but am looking to do more low-moderate angle, lighter weight touring. I was thinking to get
Altai koms. I have 145 hoks but there lack of glide has been a an issue. Nils, at Altai, recommended the 162s for my size (6ft, 185-90), but I read elsewhere on here from 2106 thread that Fischer recommends 189 for my size. I have a chance to pick up some used Fischer 125s at 165cm. Koms are 162cm 124/98/120. fishers are 165cm 125/95/120. so, they sound almost identical but earlier comments from 2016 post make them sound otherwise different in how the perform and what they're best for. I'm hoping for updated 2024 opinions about the differences, and if the fishers would be too short.
I don't mind skis being a little shorter for weight and maneuverability, but I don't want to make a big and expensive mistake. thanks!

stilltryin
Ski style: Wandering the untracked (by humans)
Favorite Skis: Voile V6 BC; Karhu XCD/GT
Favorite boots: Scarpa T3; Alpina Alaska NNN-BC

Re: kom vs Fischer Sbound 125 advice please

Post by stilltryin » Thu Jan 25, 2024 7:27 pm

If it is "low-moderate angle, lighter weight touring" that you are after, the S-bound 112 might be right. Sorry, I know that didn't answer your question, but perhaps relevant to your concern about "expensive mistake." Maybe if you say a bit more about your desired use, others may chime in.