Outlaw X for 50/50 setup?

This is the World Famous TelemarkTalk / TelemarkTips Forum, by far the most dynamic telemark and backcountry skiing discussion board on the world wide web. We have fun here, come on in and be a part of it.
Roat

Outlaw X for 50/50 setup?

Post by Roat » Mon Feb 26, 2024 2:56 am

Hi folks,
I have bought new skis midway this sesason and looking to couple them to a new binding. I usually only have room to bring one ski, so I’m looking for a one ski / binding quiver. I ski pistes, lift serviced area half the time but also have a yearly backcounty tour with some good friends where we are skinning all day for 4 days in a row. I’m pretty new to this backcountry stuff but am loving it! Have done it for three years now and am going again in two weeks for the fourth time. I have skied Telemark for about 20 years now and I’m coming off som Rossignol experience 88 with NTN Freerides. I would ideally like som lighter bindings for touring with more pivot than the freerides, but I like the freerides on piste/side of piste. My new skis are Elan Ripsticks 106.

Ideally I am quite hooked on the meidjo 3.0 because of the low weight for touring and the release as I’m getting older (48 years). But I have TX Comps now and they don’t have inserts for the tech toe, so I’m looking at both spending for new bindings and new boots if I go the meidjo og lynx way. And IF I do that, I think it would be better to wait a year and get the new Scarpa lighter boots that are coming out next fall.