Total noob setup

This is the World Famous TelemarkTalk / TelemarkTips Forum, by far the most dynamic telemark and backcountry skiing discussion board on the world wide web. We have fun here, come on in and be a part of it.
changed

Total noob setup

Post by changed » Thu Oct 03, 2024 11:33 am

Brand new to skiing in any form. Moved to Montana, Big Sky area, and want to get into xcd in all its forms. I've done flat track XC skiing once and it bored me to death.

I think I've decided on the Madshus Panorama (which model to start? 78? 68?), and some 3 pin bindings, but I don't know about boots.

This will be a one-ski quiver for this winter, to see if I actually enjoy the sport. Obviously I'll be starting on mellow inclines, so if you guys have any suggestions for boots (and skis if I'm way off base), let me know! I'm late 30's, 5'10, 170 lbs, and in good shape. Long days are repeated descents sound fun to me. :ugeek:

fisheater
Ski style: All my own, and age doesn't help
Favorite Skis: Gamme 54, Falketind 62, I hope to add a third soon
Favorite boots: Alpina Alaska, Alico Ski March

Re: Total noob setup

Post by fisheater » Sat Oct 05, 2024 10:14 am

Hello changed,
I’m a big 75 mm guy, but I would really recommend you consider NNN-BC or Xplore. The boot selection would be better.
Having said that, if you are going 75 mm I strongly suggest you purchase a binding that offers the option of cable attachment. A cable makes the the longitudinal connection of the boot to the ski much stiffer. That is quite beneficial making turns going downhill. When going uphill or across flats skiing without a cable is much more efficient.